Rancho Los Encinos in Encino, California
“Los Encinos State Historic Park, just northeast of the intersection of Balboa and Ventura Boulevards in Encino, California, was the hub of Rancho El Encino. Located in the San Fernando Valley, this California rancho includes the original eight-room de la Ossa Adobe, the two-story limestone Garnier building, a blacksmith shop, a natural spring, and a pond.”
“The natural spring provided a year-round source of water for the ancient, autonomous, village of Siutcanga. The village was home to Chumash, Tongva, and Tataviam people, who later were called “Fernandeños” by the Spanish due to the enslavement of these three groups to the San Fernando Mission. An excellent description of this village was recorded as part of the 1769 Portola Expedition. This Spanish expedition reached the San Fernando Valley and named it “El Valle de Santa Catalina de Bononia de Los Encinos” (The Valley of St. Catherine of Bononia of the Oaks).”
September 4th, 1781 – El Pueblo de la Reina de Los Angeles is founded!
“Located along a significant travel route between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, the property passed through many hands between the 1840s and the early 20th century. Today, the park contains exhibits related to the agricultural enterprises of Rancho El Encino’s various owners, including Mission Indian, Mexican Californio, French, and French Basque families.”
National Register of Historic Places: NPS-71000142
and California Historical Landmark Number 689
Use these LINKS to FOLLOW and LIKE us on other social media!
RIGHT CLICK and “OPEN IN NEW WINDOW” TO VIEW LINKS>
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Periscope | Experience Ashland Oregon
Return to Homepage | The JoshWillTravel Adventure Channel on YouTube
California Department of Parks & Recreation – Los Encinos State Historical Park
Los Encinos Docent Association http://los-encinos.org
Read our Blog Post about the Lakeside Cafe in Encino, with a view of the park>
Los Encinos State Historic Park
16756 Moorpark St., Encino CA 91436-1068 (No Parking Lot – Street Parking Only!)
The Park is Open Wed – Sun 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM – Admission is FREE!
The Visitors’ Center in the Garnier Building is open during regular park hours.